I love football, this coming Sunday is the last game of the season and I’m a Bears fan. So it doesn’t take a genius to figure out I will be front and center on my couch. Let’s take a look at some of the not so hidden costs surrounding the big game.

Superbowl Tickets (2)

Face Value: $800+
eBay: $6000+

It hard to imagine that the first few championship games to be played did not sell out completely. I would truly love to be at this game, since if history repeats itself it I will be in my 50’s before another Bears teams makes it this far. I wonder periodically if the price tag doesn’t hurt the sport, but then again, every October to early February I’m in front of the tube.

Commercial Spot

Prime 30-second spot: $2.6 million

The commercials are the reason some tune into the big game and depending on the quality of play, may generate more buzz around the water cooler the next day. If only the products advertised were worth the money spent. Just imagine what else you could buy with that money:

In the half-hour it could take for a party to drink one six pack of Budweiser, you could buy over 9 million of them, at current ad prices, Debo found.

That same $2.6 million could also…

 

  • Purchase entire blocks of East Aurora or Starin Avenue in Buffalo, Holcberg says.
  • Buy 69 Lexus RX series sedans, at just released 2008 model prices
  • Lost Productivity

    Cost to business: $162 million

    That’s right, we are even measuring the lost productivity to business due to the Superbowl. This figure only accounts for distractions and delays leading up to and after the game by workers who show up. Not included are the post-Bowl “illnesses.” Not to mention the psychological counseling I will need should the Bears loose to the Colts, but that isn’t likely to happen since my Madden 2007 assures me the game will be 66-35 with Manning going down in the second quarter after a sack by Urlacher. Go Bears!

